In 1820, a causeway was built connecting Hunter Island to Hobart’s shore. A cultural precinct was born.
Hunter Island was the site of Hobart’s Old Wharf, so prior to construction of the causeway in 1820, any sailors arriving at or departing the Old Wharf had to wade across the shallow sandbar separating Hunter Island from the banks of the River Derwent. Not only has the Hunter Street causeway improved the arrival/departure experience for visiting sailors, but it has created an atmospheric waterfront precinct which has become the backdrop to some of Tasmania’s most intriguing stories. Today it’s home to cafes, bars, restaurants, art galleries, the University Art School, The Henry Jones Art Hotel and much more.